Mantras and their Meanings

Please keep in mind it's not as important what the mantras mean, but what they DO and how they make you FEEL. The whole point is to get more subtle, closer to the soul, as to feel the effects of the mantra. 

Image from Pinterest

Image from Pinterest

For some people, the English translation can throw them off because of the reference to God, but you can substitute that for Universe, Higher Self, Source Energy, etc., all beliefs systems welcome!

Mantra for the Root Chakra : Mul Mantra | Spiritual Foundation. 

Ek Ong Kar, Sat Naam, Karataa purakh, nirbho, nirvair, Akkal moorat, ajoonee, saibhang, gur prasaad, Jap! Aad such, jugaad such, Hai bhee such, Naanak hosee bhee such 


The Creator and all creation are One. This is our True Identity.

The Doer of everything. Beyond fear. 

Beyond Revenge.

Image of the Infinite.

Unborn. Self-illumined, complete in the Self. 

This is the Guru’s Gift. 


Primal Truth, true through all time. 

True at this instant, O Nanak, forever true. 

Mantra for the Second Chakra: Adi Shakti | Divine Mother 

Adi Shakti, Adi Shakti, Adi Shakti, Namo Namo, Sarab Shakti, Sarab Shakti, Sarab Shakti, Namo Namo, Pritham Bhagvati, Pritham Bhagvati, Pritham Bhagvati, Namo Namo 


I bow to the Primal Power.

I bow to the all Encompassing Power and Energy. 

I bow to that through which God creates. 

I bow to the creative power of the kundalini, the Divine Mother Power. 

Mantra for the Solar Plexus Chakra: RAKAY RAKHANHAAR | Complete Protection 

Rakay rakhanhaar aap ubaarium, Gur kee pairee paa-eh kaaj savaariun. Hoaa aap dayall manho na visaar- iun. Saadh janaa kai sung bhavajal taariun. Saakat nindak dusht kin maa-eh bidaariun. Tis saahib kee tayk naanak manai maa-eh. Jis simrat sukh ho-eh saglay dookh jaa-eh 


God Himself is looking out for us, 

gives us light, and takes care of our affairs.

God is merciful, and never forgets us.

God guides us, giving us good people to help us. 

I take comfort in the thought of God. 

When I remember God, I feel peaceful and happy

and all my pain departs. 

Mantra for the Fourth Chakra: CHATTRA CHAKKRA VARTEE | Experience Victory 

Chattra Chakkra Vartee, Chattra Chakkra Bhugatay, Suyumbhav Subhang Sarab Daa Saraab Jugatay, Du- kaalan Pranasee, Diaalang Saroopay, Sadaa Ang Sangay, Abhangang Bibhutaay 


Thou art pervading in all the four directions, 

the Enjoyer in all the four directions.

Thou art self-illumined and united with all.

Destroyer of bad times, embodiment of mercy.

Thou art ever within us.

Thou are the everlasting giver of undestroyable power. 

Mantra for the Fifth Chakra: AAP SAHAEE HOA | Mental Self-Control
Aap Sahaaee Hoaa, Sachay Daa Sachaa Doaa, Har, Har, Har 


The Lord Himself has become my protector.

The Truest of the True has taken care of me. God, God, God. 

Mantra for the Sixth Chakra: EK ONG KAR SAT | Experience the Infinite
Ek Ong Kar Sat Guru Prasad, Sat Gur Prasad Ek Ong Kar 


God and We are One.

I know this by the Grace of the True Guru.

I know this by the Grace of the True Guru. 

That God and We are One. 

Mantra for the Crown Chakra: WAHE GURU WAHE JIO | Ecstasy Wha-hay guroo wha-hay guroo
wha-hay guroo wha-hay jio 


Great beyond description is His Infinite Wisdom.